Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: March 18th, 2014

Category: Memos

Dr. Henry Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean of the Graduate School

The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members.  In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to at least five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis.  The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2013-2014 competition are:

Leslie Anderson


Department of Political Science

Ann Horgas

Associate Professor

Department of Adult and Elderly Nursing

Susan Jacobson


Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

Kenneth Sassaman


Department of Anthropology

Stephen Smith


School of Special Education, School Psychology & Early Childhood Studies

Lynn Sollenberger


Department of Agronomy

You can find their photographs and personal statements at:

Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring.

Each winner will receive a $3,000 cash award plus $1,000 to support their graduate students.  Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors.


Comments are currently closed.