Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: March 13th, 2018

Category: Memos

Henry T. Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean, Graduate School

The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members. In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to at least five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis. The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2017-2018 competition are:

Russell Bauer
Professor and Doctoral Program Director
Department of Clinical & Health Psychology

Marsha Bryant
Professor and Distinguished Teaching Scholar
Department of English

Evangelos A. Christou
Department of Applied Physiology and Kinesiology

Hartmut Derendorf
Distinguished Professor
Department of Pharmaceutics

R. Raymond Issa
Rinker Professor and Interim Director
M.E. Rinker, Sr. School of Construction Management

You can find their photographs and personal statements at:–staff/awards/faculty-doctoral-mentoring-award/. Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring.

Each winner will receive a $3000 cash award plus $1000 to support their graduate students. Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors.

Comments are currently closed.