Travel to Terrorist States (Revised)

Published: August 4th, 2006

Category: Memos

Michael V. McKee, University Controller

This guidance supersedes previous guidance issued on July 21, 2006.

Senate bill 2434 relating to travel to terrorist states was approved and signed into law by the Governor effective July 1, 2006. It prohibits the use of state or non-state funds made available to state universities to implement, organize, direct, coordinate, or administer activities related to or involving travel to a terrorist state. The bill defines “terrorist state” as any state, country, or nation designated by the United States Department of State as a state sponsor of terrorism. Currently, the State Department assigns that designation to five countries: Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan and Syria. Payments or reimbursements for any official business travel to the above countries may not be made from funds made available to the University by the Florida legislature.

The State Department has on occasion revised this list and has travel warnings for these five countries. There are also extensive federal regulations with regard to travel to Cuba. In view of these factors, faculty and staff with questions about travel to these countries should contact the Dean’s office at the UF International Center.

Comments are currently closed.