Innovation Academy Director

Published: February 20th, 2012

Category: Memos

Joseph Glover, Provost and Senior Vice President and Bernard Mair, Associate Provost

It is our pleasure to announce the appointment of Dr. Jeffrey Citty as director of the Innovation Academy effective March 9, 2012.

The Innovation Academy (IA) is an academic program built around a new enrollment model that operates on a spring-summer calendar. Students will be on campus during the spring and summer terms instead of the traditional fall and spring terms, leaving each fall semester free for online courses, study abroad, internships, research, community service and employment. This initiative grew out of the recognition that more talented students apply to the university than capacity will allow in the fall semesters. The IA model increases access to UF by expanding capacity during the spring and summer when space is available. It will provide students with a focused intellectual and social community within the larger context of UF. They will have the opportunity to pursue multiple UF majors accompanied by a new minor curriculum emphasizing innovation, entrepreneurship and creativity. The IA director will be responsible for the overall administration and leadership of the Innovation Academy, working collaboratively with an advisory board to provide guidance on academic and programming issues. To assure success of the program, Dr. Citty will also be working with a broad array of units across campus.

Jeff holds an Ed. D. in Higher Education Administration from the University of Florida and has been involved in financial aid and academic support services at UF since 2001. He comes to this new position from the College of Engineering at UF where he has been the Director of the Engineering Freshman Transition Program since 2003, and Assistant Director of Engineering Student Affairs. His office will be located on the second floor of Criser Hall (Office of Admissions).

Please join us in congratulating and supporting Jeff in his new position.

Comments are currently closed.