Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: March 4th, 2020

Category: Memos

Dr. Henry Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean

The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members.  In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to at least five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis.  The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2019-2020 competition are:

S. “Bala” Balachandar

Distinguished Professor

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Wesley Bolch


Department of Biomedical Engineering

Martha C. Monroe


School of Forest Resources and Conservation

Adrian Roitberg

V.T. and Louise Jackson Professor

Department of Chemistry

Debbie Treise


Department of Advertising

You can find their photographs and personal statements at:–staff/awards/faculty-doctoral-mentoring-award/ .  Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring. Each winner will receive a $3000 cash award plus $1000 to support their graduate students.  Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors.     

Comments are currently closed.