UF Presidential Candidates Named

Published: April 4th, 2000

Category: Memos

Gail F. Baker, Vice President

The names of six finalists for the presidency of the University of Florida who will visit campus were announced at a meeting of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee (SAC) today. The candidates will be interviewed at the University of Florida by April 28.

Following are the names (in order of scheduled visits to UF), their current titles, the institutions where they work, and the dates they will arrive in Gainesville for interviews:

Dr. Anthony Catanese, President
Florida Atlantic University
April 9-11

Dr. Peggy Meszaros, Senior Vice President and Provost
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
April 12-14

Dr. James Moeser, Chancellor
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
April 23-25

Dr. William Muse, President
Auburn University
April 25-27

Dr. Alan Merten, President
George Mason University
April 26-28

Dr. Elson Floyd, President
Western Michigan University
Visit to campus TBA

Detailed information on the finalists, including their curriculum vitae will be available on the UF Presidential Search web page at www.ufl.edu/notice.htm.

The Search Advisory Committee, comprised of faculty, staff, student and community representatives from around the state, will interview each candidate. The candidates will also meet with faculty, students, staff and members of the Gainesville community. Following these meetings, the UF Presidential Search Advisory Committee will make a report on each candidate to the Florida Board of Regents Selection Committee on May 2. The Regents Selection Committee will recommend that Chancellor Adam Herbert interview several candidates. Chancellor Herbert and the Regents Selection Committee are scheduled to meet in Gainesville on May 17 with the full Board of Regents joining them. The Regents are expected to appoint a president at that time.

Korn/Ferry International, the Dallas-based consulting firm, assisted with the search for a new president of the University of Florida and presented the credentials of each candidate to the UF Presidential Search Advisory Committee.

Comments are currently closed.