2007 Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars and University-Wide Teacher & Advisory of the Year Awards

Published: April 19th, 2007

Category: Memos

Janie M. Fouke, Provost

Each year the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars honors University of Florida’s exceptional teaching and scholarship accomplishments by inducting into its membership faculty members who have demonstrated sustained innovation and commitment in both areas. Please join me in welcoming to the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars its 2007 inductees:

  • • Dr. Gregory Neimeyer, Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • • Dr. Nigel Richards, Professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

These teacher-scholars were selected based on portfolio submissions that provided strong evidence of the integration of superior teaching and research and a record of distinguished scholarly accomplishment that has garnered recognition at the national and/or international level.

To assist them in advancing their vision for scholarly excellence and faculty enhancement at UF, these Academy teacher-scholar inductees will serve for three years on the advisory board for Faculty Development. In this capacity they will assist the Associate Provost in developing programs and promoting policies that enhance the professional careers and experiences of faculty. Academy members also promote a university-wide discourse on key issues surrounding the integration of teaching and research at the University.

After completing their three-year terms on the advisory board, members will retain the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar and continue to be a part of the Academy.

Also, I am pleased to announce the winners of the 2006-2007 University-wide Teacher and Advisor of the Year Awards. They are the following:

University-wide Teacher of the Year:Gary Langford
Associate Director of Bands
College of Fine Arts

University-wide Teacher of the Year:Mike Foley
Master Lecturer
Department of Journalism
College of Journalism & Communications

University-wide Advisor of the Year:
Peggy R. Borum
Food Science & Human Nutrition
College of Agricultural & Life Sciences

Professional Staff
Glenn Kepic
Senior Associate in Academic Advising
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

These awards, along with the college level award winners, were announced at a banquet hosted by Faculty Development at Emerson Hall on Monday, April 16, 2007. Congratulations to all award recipients!

Comments are currently closed.