Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars Nominations

Published: November 13th, 2007

Category: Memos

Debra Walker King, Associate Provost for Faculty Development

Please share with faculty this reminder of our Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars, created specifically to recognize faculty who have excelled as teaching scholars throughout their careers. The program serves to recognize those who provide the very best educational experiences for our graduate and undergraduate students.

While Department, College and University Teaching awards acknowledge past accomplishments on an annual basis, the recipients of this honor are bestowed lifetime Academy membership. Current Academy members will serve as the selection committee for the next inductees. The members cycling off will be replaced by new members. Members cycling off will retain the title “Distinguished Teaching Scholar” and continue to be part of the Academy.

Academy members serve for three years as an Advisory Board to the Provost Office for Faculty Development. During a member’s three-year service on the Board, the Distinguished Teaching Scholar will actively assist the Associate Provost in developing educational programs and workshops for faculty and graduate students. They will also be called on periodically to advise the Provost, Dean of the Graduate School, and the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education on academic initiatives. An honorarium of $5,000 per year (total of $15,000) will be awarded to each Scholar for their service. These funds can be used as a discretionary account.

A plaque with the names of the Scholars is displayed in the Provost’s Office.

I strongly encourage you to nominate deserving faculty members for the Academy. Candidates may also self-nominate. Copies of the nomination form and required materials can be found at

All nominations are due by January 15th, 2008. No e-mail nominations will be accepted. This is a deadline for names only. The completed nominee packets are by February 18th. Please send packets to Faculty Development (235 Tigert Hall, PO Box 113050). You may address any questions to Candace Buford, Faculty Development ( or call our office at 392-6004.

Comments are currently closed.