2008 Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars

Published: April 21st, 2008

Category: Memos

Janie M. Fouke, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Each year the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars honors University of Florida’s exceptional teaching and scholarship accomplishments by inducting into its membership faculty members who have demonstrated sustained innovation and commitment. Please join me in welcoming to the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars its 2008 inductees:

• Dr. Sanford Berg, Professor, Department of Economics, Warrington College of Business Administration

• Dr. Oscar Crisalle, Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering

• Dr. William Logan, Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

These teacher-scholars were selected based on portfolio submissions that provided strong evidence of the integration of superior teaching and research and a record of distinguished scholarly accomplishment that has garnered recognition at the national and/or international level.

To assist them in advancing their vision for scholarly excellence and faculty enhancement at UF, these Academy teacher-scholar inductees will serve for three years on the advisory board for Faculty Development. In this capacity they will assist the Associate Provost in developing programs and promoting policies that enhance the professional careers and experiences of faculty. Academy members also promote a university-wide discourse on key issues surrounding the integration of teaching and research at the university.

After completing their three-year terms on the advisory board, members will retain the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar and continue to be a part of the Academy.

Comments are currently closed.