Doctoral Mentoring Award Winners

Published: April 28th, 2008

Category: Memos

Dr. Henry Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean of the Graduate School

The University of Florida is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students. These exceptional students take their direction from our many outstanding faculty. In an effort to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring, awards are given each year to five faculty advisers selected on a competitive basis. The Doctoral Mentoring Award winners for the 2007-2008 competition are:

Linda Arbuckle
Art and Art History

Christopher Janelle
Applied Physiology and Kinesiology

Timothy Judge

Constance Shehan

Wolfgang Sigmund
Materials Science and Engineering

Their photographs and personal statements are available at:

Each winner will receive a $3000 cash award plus $1000 to support their graduate students.

I encourage you to distribute this message to your faculty to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring.

Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral advisers/mentors.

Comments are currently closed.