Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: March 7th, 2012

Category: Memos

Dr. Henry Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean

The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members. In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis. The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2011-2012 competition are:

Gillian Lord
Spanish and Portuguese Studies

Konstantin Matchev

Michael Robinson
Clinical and Health Psychology

Peter Sayeski
Physiology and Functional Genomics

Yafeng Yin
Civil and Coastal Engineering


You can find their photographs and personal statements at:

Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring.

Each winner will receive a $3000 cash award plus $1000 to support their graduate students. Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors.

Comments are currently closed.