UF Homecoming Education Celebration Awards

Published: September 6th, 2012

Category: Memos

Joe Glover, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic

On October 28, we will celebrate Homecoming with the 53rd annual Education Celebration honoring outstanding faculty members at the university.

Through Education Celebration, Florida Blue Key will honor up to three faculty members for each of the following awards: Homecoming Outstanding Faculty Award, Homecoming Outstanding Mentor of Undergraduate Research Award.

This year, Florida Blue Key introduces a new award honoring the 150th anniversary of the Morrill Act. This new award will be awarded to a faculty member, student organization or faculty organization that has exemplified the upholding of the ideals in the Morrill Act through a project, research, or class in the last year. In addition, they should demonstrate significant involvement in promotion of the land-grant mission of the university.

Nominees must be active, full-time faculty at the University of Florida. Applicants may nominate themselves or someone who qualifies for the award. Both students and faculty members may nominate for the awards. The selection of these awards will be decided by a committee appointed by the 2012 UF Homecoming General Chair. The awards will be presented at Education Celebration, hosted at the 2012 Homecoming event Swamp Symphony on Sunday, October 28th at 5:00PM at the Flavet Field. Awardees will also be recognized at the Homecoming Parade and Gator Growl.

The applications and nomination forms are available at www.gatorgrowl.org under the Homecoming tab and in the Florida Blue Key office and are due October 10th in the Florida Blue Key Office or by e-mail to hanna.gehr@ufhomecoming.org.

Comments are currently closed.