New dean of the College of Pharmacy

Published: July 11th, 2013

Category: Memos

David S. Guzick, M.D., Ph.D.
UF Senior Vice President for Health Affairs and President, UF Health

 I am pleased to announce that Julie A. Johnson, Pharm.D., has been named dean of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy.

 A faculty member of the college since 1998, Dr. Johnson served for nine years as chairwoman of the department of pharmacotherapy and translational research, and currently has more than $16 million in active grants. I’m confident that the college will flourish under her leadership.

 A distinguished professor of pharmacy and medicine, Dr. Johnson was named the V. Ravi Chandran Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2004. She directs the UF Center for Pharmacogenomics and the UF Health Personalized Medicine Program at the UF Clinical and Translational Science Institute, and has published more than 200 journal articles, editorials and book chapters.

 Over the past 15 years, Dr. Johnson has established herself as a strong researcher and a strong leader. Renowned in the fields of pharmacogenomics and personalized medicine, she leads the International Warfarin Pharmacogenetics Consortium of more than 40 researchers worldwide.

 Before joining UF, she held a faculty position for nine years at the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy.

 Dr. Johnson received a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 1987. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the Ohio State University, where she had previously earned a bachelor’s of pharmacy.

I would like to thank the search committee, led by Dr. David Nelson, for its efforts to find the best candidate.

Please join me in welcoming Dr. Johnson as she assumes her new role as dean of the UF College of Pharmacy on August 5.

Comments are currently closed.