Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars (ADTS) inductees

Published: March 9th, 2016

Category: Memos

Joseph Glover, Provost and Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs

Each year the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars (ADTS) honors University of Florida’s exceptional teaching and scholarship accomplishments by inducting into its membership faculty members who have demonstrated sustained innovation and commitment in both areas. Please join me in welcoming the 2015-2016 inductees:

  • Charles Hailey, Professor, Architecture, College of Design, Construction and Planning
  • Kevin Knudson, Professor, Mathematics, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Elizabeth Rowe, Professor, Intellectual Property Law, Fredric G. Levin College of Law
  • George Christou, Distinguished Professor, Chemistry, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

These teacher-scholars were selected based on portfolio submissions that provided strong evidence of the integration of superior teaching and research and a record of distinguished scholarly accomplishment that has garnered recognition at the national and/or international level.

To assist them in advancing their vision for scholarly excellence and faculty enhancement at UF, these Academy of Distinguished Scholars inductees will serve for three years on an advisory board for the Provost’s Office. In this capacity they assist in developing programs and promoting policies that enhance the professional careers and experiences of faculty. Academy members also promote a university-wide discourse on key issues surrounding the integration of teaching and research at the University.

After completing their three-year terms on the advisory board, members will retain the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar and continue to be a part of the Academy.

Comments are currently closed.