Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: April 24th, 2017

Category: Memos

Dr. Henry Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean

The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members. In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to at least five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis.

The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2016-2017 competition are:

Elizabeth (Buffy) Bondy
School of Teaching and Learning

Robert Fletcher
Associate Professor
Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

Lori Pennington-Gray
Department of Tourism, Recreation & Sport Management

Nan Smith
School of Art & Art History

Almut Winterstein
Department of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy

Kirk Ziegler
Department of Chemical Engineering

You can find their photographs and personal statements at:–staff/awards/faculty-doctoral-mentoring-award/. Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring.

Each winner will receive a $3000 cash award plus $1000 to support their graduate students. Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors.

Comments are currently closed.