Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: March 15th, 2019

Category: Memos

Dr. Henry Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean


The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members.  In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to at least five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis.  The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2018-2019 competition are:

Martin Cohn, Professor

Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Nancy Fichtman Dana, Professor

School of Teaching and Learning

Robert Knechel, Frederick E. Fisher Eminent Scholar

Fisher School of Accounting

Robert McCleery, Associate Professor

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

Adam S. Veige, Professor

Department of Chemistry

You can find their photographs and personal statements at:–staff/awards/faculty-doctoral-mentoring-award/.  Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring. Each winner will receive a $3,000 cash award plus $1,000 to support their graduate students.  Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors.


Comments are currently closed.