Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: March 15th, 2021

Category: Memos

Dr. Henry Frierson, Associate Vice President and Dean

The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members.  In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to at least five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis.  The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2020-2021 competition are:

Dr. Linda Hon


Department of Public Relations

Dr. Tina Smith-Bonahue

Associate Professor

Department of Special Education, School Psychology and Early Childhood Studies

Dr. Ghatu Subhash

Newton C. Ebaugh Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Brent Sumerlin

George B. Butler Professor of Polymer Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

You can find their photographs and personal statements at:–staff/awards/faculty-doctoral-mentoring-award/2020-2021-mentoring-award-winners/.   Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring. Each winner will receive a $3000 cash award plus $1000 to support their graduate students.  Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors.

Comments are currently closed.