Doctoral Dissertation/Mentoring Award Winners

Published: March 8th, 2024

Category: Memos

Dr. Nicole LP Stedman, Associate Provost and Dean

The life of the university is greatly enhanced by the quality of our doctoral students, and they take their direction from our many outstanding faculty members.  In an effort to continue to promote doctoral studies and to recognize excellence in doctoral student mentoring by our faculty, awards are given each year to at least five faculty doctoral advisors selected on a competitive basis.  The Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award winners for the 2023-2024 competition are:

Ronald K. Castellano


College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Department of Chemistry

Martin J. Cohn


College of Medicine

Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Nicolas DiLorenzo


College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

Department of Animal Sciences

Aysegul Gunduz


Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering

J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering

Holly Lane

Associate Professor

College of Education

School of Special Education, School Psychology, and Early Childhood Studies

Kirk J. Ziegler

Charles A. Stokes Professor

Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering

Department of Chemical Engineering

You can find their photographs and personal statements at  Please distribute this message to your faculty and encourage them to review what these award winners have to say about doctoral student mentoring.

Each winner will receive a $3000 cash award plus $1000 to support their graduate students.  Please join the Graduate School in recognizing these outstanding doctoral faculty advisors/mentors. 

Comments are currently closed.