Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars

Published: November 30th, 2005

Category: Memos

Debra Walker King, Associate Provost for Faculty Development

Please share with faculty, this reminder of our recently founded Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars, created specifically to recognize faculty who have excelled as teaching scholars throughout their careers. Patterned after successful programs at Texas, Virginia, and Southern California, the program serves to recognize those who provide the very best educational experiences for our graduate and undergraduate students.

While Department, College and University Teaching awards acknowledge past accomplishments on an annual basis, the recipients of this honor are bestowed lifetime Academy membership.

The first five members were selected Spring 2005 and will serve as the selection committee for the next five inductees. Once the cadre of 15 active members is reached, the five members cycling off will be replaced by five new members. Members cycling off will retain the title “Distinguished Teaching Scholar” and continue to be part of the Academy.

Academy members act as an Advisory Board of the University Center for Excellence in Teaching (UCET). During a member’s three-year service on the UCET Board, the Distinguished Teaching Scholar will actively assist UCET in developing educational programs and workshops for faculty and graduate students. Academy members will also be called on periodically to advise the Provost, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, and Director of UCET on academic initiatives. An honorarium of $5,000 per year (total of $15,000) will be awarded to each Scholar for their service. These funds can be used as an unrestricted overhead account.

A plaque with the names of the Scholars is displayed in the Provost’s Office as well as outside the UCET office.

I strongly encourage you to nominate deserving faculty members for the Academy. Candidates may also self-nominate. Copies of the nomination form and required materials can be found at . All nominations must be received by December 31st, 2006. No e-mail nominations will be accepted. Please send packets to UCET (109 Rolfs Hall) and address any questions to Dave Bloomquist, UCET Director, 846-1574,

Comments are currently closed.