International Educator of the Year Award 2006

Published: September 13th, 2006

Category: Memos

Dennis C. Jett, Dean of the International Center and Director of the Transnational and Global Studies Center

Each college is asked to submit nominations for the International Educator of the Year Award by October 31, 2006. The award was created to recognize outstanding international endeavors by UF faculty members. As last year, colleges are asked to make nominations for two awards-one for untenured or newly tenured faculty and one for senior faculty. The winner of each award will receive $5000.

A university-wide committee will judge the candidates for the award. Each college is asked is to nominate one candidate for each of the two awards, with the exception of IFAS, CLAS and Medicine, which may nominate two for both awards because of the size of those colleges. Each college is free to develop its own review process, but the nominations from each college should be made by department chairs and endorsed by the dean. The nomination should consist of a memo of no more than three pages describing the international accomplishments of the faculty member. Contact information and a summary paragraph should be at the beginning of each nomination.

Consideration will be given to the following factors:

The extent to which the faculty member’s research made a significant contribution to his/her discipline and how that work involved international activities.

The extent to which the faculty member’s teaching increased student awareness of international issues and involved them in study or research activities abroad. Also the extent to which courses with international content were developed and how that affected the curriculum.

The extent to which the international activities raised UF’s profile as a major research university and the benefits derived from them including the number and way people were affected should both be described.

The awards will be presented by Provost Fouke at a reception on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the Keene Faculty Center as part of International Education Week. Nominations must be received by October 31 and should be directed, as well as any questions, to Dean Dennis Jett, International Center, Grinter Hall 146, P.O. Box 113225; by email at: or by phone 392-5323, Ext. 501.

Comments are currently closed.