Jefferson Science Fellows Program

Published: October 30th, 2007

Category: Memos

Dennis Jett, Dean of the International Center

UF will again participate this year in the Jefferson Science Fellow (JSF) Program of the U.S. State Department. UF can nominate two faculty members for consideration in this nationwide competition. Those selected as Fellows will work for one year in Washington, D.C. with the possibility of extended stays at American embassies abroad. They will be tasked with providing science, technology and engineering advice to be used in the formulation and implementation of U.S. Government policy on science and technology issues that are of critical importance.

To be considered a candidate must be:

1. A U.S. citizen;
2. A tenured faculty member;
3. Recommended by their department chair and endorsed by their respective dean.

Last year, Dr. Janaki R.R. Alavalapati from IFAS won one of these prestigious fellowships.

Additional information on the program and on the documentation required to apply can be found at:

Applicants MUST NOT submit their applications directly to The National Academies, but instead must send them to the International Center at the Hub marked for the attention of Dean Jett. They will then be reviewed by a committee that will select the two UF nominees. Applications must be received by the International Center by Monday, January 7, 2008.

Any questions and completed applications should be directed to Dean Dennis Jett at the International Center who can be reached at or 273-1523.

Comments are currently closed.