Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars

Published: February 25th, 2014

Category: Memos

Joseph Glover, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Each year the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars (ADTS) honors University of Florida’s exceptional teaching and scholarship accomplishments by inducting into its membership faculty members who have demonstrated sustained innovation and commitment in both areas. Please join me in welcoming the 2014 inductees:

Emilio M. Bruna, Professor of Tropical Biology and Latin American Studies
Director, Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute
Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation & Center for Latin American Studies

Marsha Carol Bryant, Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Department of English

Kimberly A. Moore, Professor, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, Environmental Horticulture, Fort Lauderdale REC

These teacher-scholars were selected based on portfolio submissions that provided strong evidence of the integration of superior teaching and research and a record of distinguished scholarly accomplishment that has garnered recognition at the national and/or international level.

To assist them in advancing their vision for scholarly excellence and faculty enhancement at UF, these Academy of Distinguished Scholars inductees will serve for three years on an advisory board for the Provost’s Office. In this capacity they assist in developing programs and promoting policies that enhance the professional careers and experiences of faculty. Academy members also promote a university-wide discourse on key issues surrounding the integration of teaching and research at the University.

After completing their three-year terms on the advisory board, members will retain the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar and continue to be a part of the Academy.


Comments are currently closed.