2015-2016 Teacher-Scholar of the Year

Published: April 5th, 2016

Category: Memos

Joseph Glover, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

I am pleased to announce that Dr. George Christou, Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has received the University of Florida Teacher-Scholar of the Year award for 2015-2016.

Originating in 1960, this is the University of Florida’s most prestigious and oldest faculty award.  It offers an honorarium of $6,000 in addition to other appropriate recognition.  In making the award, the Award Committee selects a faculty member who demonstrates distinguished achievement in both teaching and scholarly activity (manifested by scholarly research, creative writing, original works of art, etc.) and visibility within and beyond the university.

Dr. Christou and the winners of the University Level Teacher and Advisor of the Year Award along with the College level recipients were recognized at a reception hosted by President Fuchs on April 4, 2016:

  • Joslyn Ahlgren, Undergraduate Teacher of the Year, Department of Applied Physiology and Kinesiology, College of Health and Human Performance.
  • Laura K. Guyer, Faculty Advisor/Mentor of the Year, Center for Women’s Studies and Gender Research, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Christine Richmond, Professional Advisor of the Year, Biology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

For more information on the University-wide awards and past winners, please visit our website at http://www.aa.ufl.edu/awards

Congratulations to all award recipients!


Comments are currently closed.